On a Lighter Note… Lenten Reading

by

So there are a couple of books I am now reading for Lent…

Pitre, Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist – Great reading… fast, great points, and something everyone should be aware of.

Palamas, The Triads – I always wanted to dive a little deeper into the Palamine language and distinction.  For those wondering, he’s not a Church of the East saint specifically, but he is one of our neighbors’.  So far, it has been an interesting read.

For anyone who might complain about me not reading readings from our own tradition, I point out the Lenten prayers and readings from our Liturgy give me enough sense of my own tradition.  But I have determined that once I’m done with St. Gregory Palamas’ book, I will be going back to finish one of the readings from Mingana, Early Christian Mystics.  The readings in the Syriac are hard enough given my admittedly poor dictionary in that language especially in the topics that they are talking about, so I think finishing one of the readings in Syriac will be enough Lenten struggle.

That being said… what are you guys reading?

 

2 Responses to “On a Lighter Note… Lenten Reading”

  1. Ian Says:

    I’m happy to do your tradition’s reading for you (though in English!) – and you do mine. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing; always good to see what others are reading.

    I am reading:

    Great Lent: Journey to Pascha (Fr Alexander Schmemann) and The Lenten Spring (Fr Thomas Hopko) as I do each Lent.

    I am reading The Arena: an Offering to Contemporary Monasticism by Bishop Ignatius (Brianchaninov) and dipping into my Saint’s work The Ladder of Divine Ascent — I switch between them in alternate years at Lent.

    I’d like to re-read some St Ephraim and St Issac…and may re-read Fr Andrew’s book you recommended and I greatly enjoyed, “The Mesopotamian School and Theodore of Mopsuestia”.

    As I drive I am listening to a podcast from Ancient Faith Radio on St John Chrysostom’s Lenten teaching on Genesis, and another podcast by the same professor (Dr Jeannie Constantinou) on the Bible.

  2. aboriente Says:

    Ian… nice call on the readings! especially enjoy the listing of your namesake 🙂

Leave a Reply

